Inspiration Challenge 24: One Free Pass

Day 24 Challenge: One Free Pass

Not one free pass from participating in these inspiration challenges, but one free pass from life.  From obligations – other people’s obligations, other people’s “should”s.  It’s easy to get caught up in external benchmarks.  They’re easy to identify, come with no self-doubting strings attached, and they’re everywhere.

I also have this long list of internal “should”s.  Should get started on my next homework assignment.  Should look for alumni to make contact with.  Should bake cookies for friends to thank them for cheering me up.  The problem with a long list of shoulds, though, is that it becomes hard to differentiate the true priorities from the ones that can wait.  The everpresent list of things that “need” to get done weighs down o me, so that eventually I don’t want to do anything and sit in front of the Internet in a rebellious stupor, but a reactive stupor at that.

So instead, last night I tried something different.  I gave myself a time deadline to finish my paper due tomorrow, plopped myself in the library, and when I was done I decided, “That’s it.  No more work for the night.”  Instead, I grocery shopped.  I multitasked in the kitchen.  Improvised pumpkin chocolate chip cookies.  Watched my favorite Chinese soap opera.  Did some Internet trolling to look for summer internship ideas, but with no strings attached beyond information gathering.

It felt great.  It’s going to be a busy week (then again, aren’t they all?), but sometimes it’s necessary to proactively put away the list and give ourselves one free pass, whether that is a couple hours, an afternoon, or an entire weekend to just do whatever we want.  It rejuvenates.  And oddly enough, it makes us more productive when we pick up the list again.  More importantly, it gives us enough perspective to prioritize and eliminate the unnecessary items from the list.

So take a free pass!  What will you do instead?

Tags:

One Response to “Inspiration Challenge 24: One Free Pass”

  1. Michael Tim Says:

    I love your site!

    _____________________
    Experiencing a slow PC recently? Fix it now!

Leave a Reply

